Synchronicity

“We thought the way you presented yourself in the interview was too vague. We are not looking for someone who uses synchronicity. We are looking for a networker who forces success.” It’s Juppin’s voice on the phone.
“Well I don’t think one excludes the other. We’re just talking about styles.” Comes my answer. I don’t know why I even bother.

I’ve been called vague on many occasions in my life. Now, I hear it as an argument for not being chosen for a job I’d have liked to get. It’s more concrete when it has a consequence.

“Any other feedback?” I ask. “No, for the rest it was fine, really.” “So you lost me when I used the term synchronicity?” “Yep, that’s it. Sorry dude.”

Can we integrate synchronicity into a business plan? Let’s first consider what it is. I have to admit straightaway that I don’t know the definition, but here’s how I understand it.

Imagine two neighbours with a balcony. One spring, both plant a Melissa on their own little space. Just because they like it. After a few years, both Melissas have grown quite smelly and together they attract more bees. Some years later, the plants have reproduced, and Melissa is spontaneously growing on balconies all over the flat attracting huge amounts of bees. One stable state – pair of synchronous events – different stable state. No business involved.

Use of such events would require minimum effort for maximum impact. Two people start a similar business? Introduce them to each other. Great things might happen. A company has a surplus of shit while its neighbour is making compost? Get them in touch. They’ll feel as one. A whole neighbourhood is feeling lonely and depressed? Connect them. Romance may arise. Aware of it or not, networkers are making more and more use of synchronicities all the time.

I’ve looked the definition up by now, and Jung described synchronicity in a very similar way. For him, synchronicities were merely a way to explain a meaningful co-ocurrence of events when causality doesn’t do it. An explanatory model that does not compete causality, but stands next to it. An inspiration to look at the bigger picture. Jung was attacked by many other psychologists.

A different understanding meets resistance. Why?

Leave a Reply

